Forums/

Newbies

stop smoking and start running

posted about 4 years ago | Report

any smokers out there that quit and are now running? i quit a long time ago and ran everyday! felt great!! started smoking again for a while now... any good ideas on quitting and getting back to running? thanks

20 posts

scroll to bottom
  • i'd just start running and once you realize how much smoking affects your performance you'll want to quit again....thats how i quit.

posted about 4 years ago

• thanks jeff , i'll start working on that tomorrow!!

posted about 4 years ago

• hi. i've been smoking for 7 years. April 2010, i started running and joined several 5K runs. I decided to quit smoking approximately 1 month prior to my first 10K run. now i'm 1 month free of smoking. it improved my breathing and didn't pant that way i did when i was still smoking and of course you'll smell and look better. :D

posted about 4 years ago

• I smoked 13 years and quit 1 1/2 years ago- I started to amp my work out at that point for weight gain fear- I can't believe the damage to my lungs- So here we are now- and I am still feeling like I have damaged lungs- much better than before but it takes A LONG time to heal...
    Just do it - no excuses- just quit- I was at 2.5 packs a day you can do it!!!

posted about 4 years ago

• I quit in September 2009. I started running in January to reinforce my quitting. I was never good at running, even before smoking so I decided if I can build up my endurance I'd be so happy I would never risk it by going back to smoking. So far it's working great, I haven't smoked and I am up to 5+ miles without walking or stopping, I never thought I'd be able to do that.

If I were you I'd quit first, take 2 weeks to focus on it. When a craving happens don't run from it, hit it head on. See how bad you can make that craving get, and just don't give in. Make it a game. Once you've gotten past 2 weeks I'd start walking/light jogging and go from there.