Forums/

Newbies

New to running/DM; wanted to say hey :D

posted about 2 years ago | Report

Whatsup DM members, just wanted to say hey.
I'm Charley, I'm also 18, and let me tell ya, around here not many people my age are into running, a few people maybe in track at my HS but they are in it for the competition, I just like to run for the sake of running.
I'm new to running, well not new EXACTLY, I've always liked running, but I never did cause well it was WEIRD ya know? At my age I was 'supposed' to be playing video games or something. I still ran though, usually only the approx ~1KM to school every day and back.
I'm new to running more seriously/regularly though, and am very much enjoying it :D, although I'm in horrible shape but I'm getting better, as an example; since starting running regulary since about a couple of months ago, my legs have NEVER been tired or sore afterwards. Why? my heart/lungs give out LONG before my legs are done :O I'll get there though :)

I always run barefoot, I know that is an area of great debate, but w/e, I say just do what works for you, and barefoot running is more comfortable for me and it feels great, plus I used to have problems where sometimes after I would run I would get like this pain in the bottom of my foot on the arch (w/e you call that) and it would hurt for a few days, since I started running barefoot - doesn't happen. Coincidence? Quite possibly. But it works for me for now.

Oh wow that was a bit of a ramble XD sorry.
Anyways just wanted to say hey, I joined this site cause hopefully looking for a bit of encouragement and to talk with people who actually like running of which I don't know anybody as of yet :/

Anyways, peace

• Hey Charley... welcome to DM.

Do you have any personal goals you'd like to share? A certain distance you'd like to achieve? Pace? possibly a race?