Forums/

General Running

Pain in foot: Outside below ankle

posted over 2 years ago | Report

Hi all, I wondered if you could help me?

I have developed a dull ache, Its not the ankle bone nor related to the heel BUT just below the ankle bone and on the outside of the left foot.

When I run it is very tender when I first start running but goes away after a mile but does return once rested.

When I awake in the morning and place the foot on the floor it is quite tender initially but again subsides after a few minutes.

Any ideas what this might be?

• go see a doctor. I'm not a doctor so I'm worried it is a stress fracture
    http://www.runnersrescue.com/Metatarsal_Stress_Fracture_Running.htm

posted over 2 years ago

• Not a stress fracture as I can run fast still.

I thought it might be something to do cuboid related.

posted over 2 years ago

• I recently had this when I changed to a new running shoe & increase my weekly mileage.

It is the peroneus longus tendon. This runs from outer calf from peroneus longus muscle and turns into tendon where ankle/calf meet between the outer ankle bone and achilles, just above the ankle bone it splits into peroneus longus tendon ( runs to outside / under foot to pinky toe) and peroneus brevis tendon (runs in front of ankle bone), which I also get a swelling under ankle bump (Like a temporary 2nd/smaller ankle bump).

These tendons are rare injuries and often misdiagnosed and bad news is if any partial /full rupture most often do not heal and need surgery. These tendons primary purpose are to stop foot from rolling out and keeping calf inline with foot.

The tendons are inflamed & swollen. Try putting ice over these tendons for 15 to 20 minutes, two to three times per day. Remove the ice if the area gets numb.

Changes in activity may help manage the symptoms:

Decrease or stop any activity that causes you pain.
    Run or walk on smoother and softer surfaces.