Forums/

General Running

Finally trying

posted over 2 years ago | Report

Well, I am new to running as an adult. I did run track in high school, but have never been any kind of distance runner. I have 2 kids, and the treadmill is the only way I can get any running in right now. It was not as bad as I thought. I have been running since last Monday. one mile in the am, and one in the pm. Every day so far. I am gaining a little weight, about 4-5 lbs, I guess. I feel swollen in my hands and legs all of the time. I am 5'7" and about 155 right now. I'm 33 years old. I have been thin my whole life, but starting to gain a little, and need to stop it before it is even harder. I feel like I have more energy since starting running, so that is a plus. I have always wanted to be a runner, just never had the time to start. I am a nurse, and worked Labor and Delivery for 8 years. I switched last year to school nursing, which I love, and now have summers off. So, I am thinking ...What better time to start than now??? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

• You may not drop weight right away. Most people tend to eat the same added calories when they start running. Also, you'll gain a bit of muscle. Just stay in it for the long haul and think long term. A year later and you'll realize you're doing 25 miles a week and you are 5 pounds lighter and feeling so much better.

Good luck.

posted over 2 years ago

• in reply to what Doug said:You may not drop weight right away. Most people tend to eat the same added calories when they start running. Also, you'll gain a bit of muscle. Just stay in it for the long haul and think long term. A year later and you'll realize yo... read more

Thanks Doug!

posted over 2 years ago