Forums/

General Running

Do Newtons = Injury

posted about 3 years ago | Report

I posted this as a question but I think it should be a discussion.

How many of you run in Newtons and have not had calf issues? For those who have had calf problems, did you follow the prescibed method of gradual adjustment or did you jump right in? Were you an experienced runner or newbie? Were you trying to change your form or just looking for something lighter? How fast did you run before/after?

• As for me, I am a relative newbie in my 3rd year of running. I have a handful of 5ks, a 15k, and a full marathon under my belt. A couple of those 5ks have been this year since I wanted to focus on speed. Thats how I stumbled on the Newtons.  I am an engineer by education so I quickly recognized that heel striking causes breaking action which slows down your forward momentum on every stride. I started gradually trying to transition and that's when I got my Newtons.  I had just run a 5k and was starting to train for my next one so I did a 2 mile run to test them out. Everything seemed ok and since I never ran much more than 5 mi I figured it was safe to start running in them full time.

Now I am training for a half. Once I got over 10 mi on my long runs I started having problems. What started off as soreness turned into a calf strain and possible tear. I am self treating with foam roller and time off. I am planning on running in my Sir Isaacs today. We will see how it goes.

posted about 3 years ago