Run time: 03:23; calories needed: 3,931
T1 + T2 time: 00:10
Total race time: 09:53: calories needed: 10,740
==================================
Caloric deficit: 9,540
Report created on: 2012-11-12 13:54:17

Is that normal? That's a lot of grub... and how on earth do you take in calories while swimming? And otherwise how do you take in that much while racing? I mean I've gu'ed on my marathon, but that would be 40 gu's while running... I know some people do Clif Bars and what not on the bike.

What is the balance between taking in enough calories to fuel you to do your best and feeling like you need to map out the nearest Golden Corral on your bike route?

Yes I'm new to this :)

• 10K calories seems likea lot but isn't outside the realm of possibilities
    here's an article on IM nutritionhttp://www.endurancecorner.com/library/nutrition/race_nutrition

you take the calories in thru fluids or food. gels are very common. some folks go w/ all fluid and have a very caloric rich bottle stuff like infinit or hammer nutrition. most folks don't eat during the swim.

posted about 6 years ago

• in reply to what Joe H. said:10K calories seems likea lot but isn't outside the realm of possibilities here's an article on IM nutritionhttp://www.endurancecorner.com/library/nutrition/race_nutrition you take the calories in thru fluids or food. gels are very commo... read more

This is great, thank you

posted about 6 years ago

• That's the total number of calories that you'll burn- not the total number that you'll need to eat. You'll end up in a deficit, but that's fine. You've got an unlimited supply of fat to burn, so the only thing you need to eat for is to replace your glycogen. The lower your exercise intensity level, the higher % fat and lower % glycogen you use- which is why you cannot do an IM at threshold- you'll bonk.