Forums/

Beginner Running

10k to 10miles...

posted over 2 years ago | Report

I'm really very new to running and started on Jan 1st doing the couch to 5k plan.

I have a 10k race on Sunday week (I use the term loosely as there is no chance of winning it!) and I'm hoping to finish in about 1hr and 15mins.

I have also signed up to do the Great South Run in October and I'm looking for some advice from people as to how best to get faster. I'm really aiming to get to able to hold an 11-12 min mile rather than 14-15min mile which is what I currently do.

If you have any experience of something similar or have some ideas I can try I would really appreciate the help. I should add that I have lost 2 stone from running since the beginning of the year and have at least another 2 to go - so is it really just a case of getting faster as you get lighter?

All these questions!!!

Thank you

Laura

• same way you got here. get a plan, follow it, listen to body and give it proper nutrition and rest and kick booty. fwiw i like the free generic training plans at halhigdon.com but there are lots of other plans out there. look around and see which ones fit your goals and lifestyle

posted over 2 years ago

• To the best of my knowledge, three things will make you faster at endurance running.
    1) Not have "extra" weight. So yes, loosing weight will make you faster.
    2) Having better aerobic capacity. This comes from putting in the miles along with proper rest times.
    3) Running with better efficiency. This means form work such as not over striding, running "light" and smooth, etc. The top runners tend to follow close to the natural form taught by Chi Running, POSE, Natural Running, Etc.

In terms of running a longer race, plans can be good but not at the expense of having fun while running. Except for the weekly long run which is key to going longer, don't be afraid to change the type of workout on any day. I personally made my own plan that's really simple