Forums/

Beginner Running

User_avatar Deleted User

New and have a question!

posted over 2 years ago | Report

Hi guys,

I'm new to the daily mile and relatively new to running. Looking for friends/motivation/advice!

Also, does anyone else get really bad tightening/stiffness/pain in their achilles the day after a run? I get it only on one foot and it seems to be associated with sharp heel pain. It goes away if I take a day off/as the day goes on and I move around more.

16 posts

scroll to bottom
  • Hi Laura,

First, FR incoming. Second, what type of shoes are you running in? Do you stretch at all after you run?

posted over 2 years ago

• Laura,

I did a few years ago and I ignored it. It ended up being tendinitis. I'd recommend getting checked out just to make sure... you don't want to make it worse.

For me my shoes were the problem. I pronate when I run so I ended up buying motion control shoes.... not cheap, but they've been a big help.

I had to do some therapy on the achilles, then ease back into it slowly. I still get pain every once in awhile but an ibuprofen seems to help with that.

fr sent.

posted over 2 years ago

• I don't have that, but getting checked isn't a bad idea. Also, how did you pick your shoes? Anyone help out by watching you run one way or another? I didn't end up getting a pair in the store that way because of their inventory, but have learned to figure out what could work from that.

Keep your runs very short and easy at most in the meantime. Not sure how much more you've been doing than what you have logged. It should not feel like a workout when you finish right now because you're conditioning things to be able to handle the workload without getting hurt. And you've indicated feeling soreness as it is.

posted over 2 years ago