Forums/

Beginner Running

Cross Training and Strength Training and Single Mom

posted over 2 years ago | Report

I am looking for advice on cheap ways to cross train and strength train. I am a single mom of an almost 4 year old and do not have the money to spend on a gym membership as I am an adult college student about to enter the RPN program.

Does any one have ideas about how to cross train and strength train on a budget? Are there other single mothers (parents) on there that have advice on how to get runs in?

• I'm not a single mother, but I may have a few ideas for you. I got them from a friend of mine that is a trainer. I am also working on a speech about this. You may want to use your body weight. Push ups, planks, tricep dips, butt blasters, back extensions, and squats are a few ideas that she gave me. You can use a doorway or a chair to help with stretches. Hopefully this starts you.

posted over 2 years ago

• in reply to what Stephanie W J. said:I'm not a single mother, but I may have a few ideas for you. I got them from a friend of mine that is a trainer. I am also working on a speech about this. You may want to use your body weight. Push ups, planks, tricep dips, butt blasters, bac... read more

Thank you very much for your feedback

posted over 2 years ago

• I think Stephanie is definitely right on. When I work out at home I will often also use a balance ball for strength/balance as well as some of the exercises she listed. If you go online or get Fitness or Runner's World or any magazines like that they very often have great exercises & stretches you can do at home with little or no equipment. As far as fitting runs in, is there anyone with whom you can trade babysitting? Or can your little one ride a bike/scooter while you run? It may be a slow, short run for you, but it could work at least marginally. Good luck!

posted over 2 years ago