Answers/

Beginner Running

How long do shin splints usualy take to heal?

asked over 4 years ago | Report

And what is the best treatment? Icing? I am a newbie!

7 answers

scroll to bottom
  • The best cure for shin splints is time. Though if you want to stay active, I suggest heating the leg muscle with a hot water bottle and then massaging. Taping the leg can also help. Just don't push yourself too hard until it's all better. Hope this helps.

answered over 4 years ago |Report

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • The major pain took a few weeks to subside for me with me backing off on my mileage substantially. It took a total of 2 months to feel normal again. After at least a few days of rest, I strongly suggest starting to strengthen your Anterior Tibialus muscle (the one that runs parallel beside your tibia). If the muscle is weak it can be a cause for the shin splints.

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • Hi Andrea,

I used to get shin splints after a half a mile of running. I took a running workshop to work on my gait and I can run for miles without any pain at all now. I feel like maybe we all start running because we assume that since we have been running since childhood and we have these expensive shoes that we know what we are doing, but we don't and these big expensive shoes don't help. Maybe a running workshop or work with a running coach is something to look into? Other than that, heat before ice after and don't push it.

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • heat before, ice after, toe taps while sitting at a desk to improve the muscle on the front of your shin. take 3 days off when it gets bad. stretch your calves and flex your foot.

almost every beginning runner gets this. landing on the heel with a big padded shoe can be part of the cause as Tav said. sometimes it seems your body simply needs to adapt.

good luck.

thumbs up
      thumbs down