Answers/

Beginner Running

Coughing after a run ?

asked about 5 years ago | Report

Hi Guys,

I'm new in running... ( and exercices in general )...
today, i run a ~5km ( well, i walked about 1/3 or 1/4 of it ... )

( http://nikerunning.nike.com/nikeplus/?l=runners,runs,1142290929,runID,67769486 )

( http://dailymile.com/e/1fv1 )

When i stop running ( when i walk or when i'm done ), i cough... and i have to spit some mucus ( spitting occurs when i run too... )

I cough for like 15 or 20 minutes... It's not very intense... but i wonder if it's a problem... Could it be asthma ? I'm 28 years old and never had asthma symptoms... Exercise induced asthma ?

Also, i can't believe it could be allergy since i never had any allergy symptoms before in my life :)

Thanks for your help :)

5 answers

scroll to bottom
  • It happens to me often. I cough more after my runs when the weather starts to turn cooler. I never cough anything up with it though. A physician friend of mine called it Exercise induced bronchospasm. It never was a big deal to me. I would some times use a inhaler after a race and it would usually stop the coughing. It was suggested to use it before a race as well, but I understand that all inhalers will raise heart rate, and I would rather not have a higher heart rate during a race than I need to. Since it only lasts for about 20 mins at most, a lot of times I just put up with it.

answered about 5 years ago |edited about 5 years ago |Report

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • Keep an eye on it and if you're worried do go see a doctor. However, I used to have the same problem. After a hard workout (where I got my lungs working) I'd spend 10-15 minutes coughing on and off, a lot like you describe. My old Karate instructor said it was just my body clearing all the crap out of my lungs which had built up in there through lack of use.

Anyway as my fitness got better the coughing stopped. These days after a good blow I might have a couple of coughs and I'm fine.