Answers/

Beginner Running

New Runner with Achy Hips

asked almost 2 years ago | Report

Just wondering if it's just me or is it typical for a first time runner to experience achy hips. I just started training for a 1/2 Marathon a week ago today. A couple of days ago my hips started aching. My right more than the left. I was wondering if this is typical with a new runner or have I injured myself?

8 answers

scroll to bottom
  • welcome to DM. Could be due to the increased mileage. I had something similar when I increased by distance from 5k - 10k. take it steady and try not to increase your distances too quickly.

answered almost 2 years ago |Report

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • I am still a newbie, but I also had hip pain when I first started running. I ended up looking on line for stretches for my hips. It seemed to make a big difference to me when I did the stretches before running. I also noticed that after a couple of months of running I don't even notice it anymore. Good luck on your training!

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • You might try exercises to strengthen your hips and glutes. Weak glutes are pretty common. I used to get a lot of hip pain, but now I do a series of strength exercises before every run and it has made a world of difference.
    Here's a couple references and demonstrations:
    http://strengthrunning.com/2011/02/the-itb-rehab-routine-video-demonstration/
    On this page, look for the links to the Myrtl routine and the lunge matrix, under the heading "Dynamic Warm-ups and Warm-Downs"
    http://strengthrunning.com/2010/05/elite-core-and-dynamic-warm-ups-a-comprehensive-guide/

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • It could also be your shoes. When I first started running, without knowing any better I was in a stability shoe and they were making my knees and my hips really wonky.

But mileage and strength training (or even cross training for that matter) shouldn't be overlooked either.

Good luck!

thumbs up
      thumbs down