Answers/

Beginner Running

After run, right leg only hurts.

asked about 3 years ago | Report

This question has probably been asked a million times but I'm at a loss and my google powers are not sufficient.

I'm 5'11" 250 lbs..big guy. I'm a beginner runner and have been running for about a month and a half. On average I go 1.5 to 2 miles. Everything started out fine until after about the 3rd-4th time I went out (I run about 3 times a week) I notice that my right calf/shin was so sore that I had to stop and walk back. The next day it was bad enough that I had a limp whenever I put pressure on my toe or pushed off.

It's been like this literally every time that I've gone out for a run since. I can't go more than two miles if I want to walk the next day and it takes about 48 hours after my run to stop hurting and feel ok. This means I can only run 3 times a week. That's pretty counter-productive to my attempts to lose weight through running.

I looked through some anatomical diagrams and it feels like it's the soleus muscle or right around that area. I thought maybe it was just conditioning related and that I should build up strength but now it's almost two months later and I have the same problem. I thought it may be my shoes since I'm flat footed. I went out and bought a pair of nikes that were recommended by a flat foot site I found on google...no help. I thought maybe I needed more arch support so I bought some heel cups that are supposed to help flat foot. I can't tell the difference between before and after. I do some 'wall pushups' and other warmups for my calves before running but that doesn't seem to help my right leg.

Every time I run my left leg feels great. It's always the right leg and always the same spot. If I point my foot outward it doesn't hurt. If i pull my foot/toes in it hurts in the same place.

If anyone has any ideas please help. I really want to run more often and further because I enjoy it.

9 answers

scroll to bottom