Forums/

Beginner Cycling

Is the Schwinn Le Tour GSX a "starter" bike?

posted over 2 years ago | Report

Anyone know much about the Schwinn Le Tour GSX? Is it a good starter bike? Otherwise, what "specs" should I be looking for in a starter bike? I've already been fitted and know my bike size...

I'm a complete newbie to cycling lingo, mostly a runner, but wanna be cyclist. I simply want to use the bike to cross train

I've been to a few bike shops and they recommed at minimum, I get a bike that is 24-speed, with STI shifters (like I even know what that means). I just get the sense they want to "oversell" me a bike and i'm not interested in paying $$$ for a bike right now, at the same time, I want a comfortable bike

Any help would be great, there's only so much I can understand from google :-P

• Fit, fit, fit Blah-blah-blah, fit Okay, now I've gotten my standard reply out of the way...

This looks like it was discontinued in 2009, retail back then was ~$1200 they should be discounting it just to get it off their floor. It sounds like it should be a good starter. http://tinyurl.com/88pf7vg

Schwinn is now owned by Dorel Industries, who also make bikes under the GT, Mongoose, and Cannondale brands, it should be a good quality build.

STI= Shimano Total Integration, it is the dual lever brake shifter, rather than the thumb release down shifter on the lower levels of Shimano's line. That is a good way to look for higher quality Shimano components. Shimano has 7ish levels of components, (numbers only), Sora, Tiagra (STI), 105 (STI), Ultegra (STI), and Dura-Ace (STI).

24-speed, is rather deceptive, the top performance bikes in the world "only" have 20 or 22 gear ratios. I would rather have an 18-speed compact over a 24-speed. The main point the shops are probably trying to get across is, a 24-speed will have 8 rear gears, and that is the minimum you should look for.