Forums/

Beginner Cycling

Thinking about commuting

posted about 2 years ago | Report

I'm new to cycling but I have started thinking about commuting to work and school. What things should I know before I start. Right now I'm riding a 1982 Schwinn Collegiate three speed and it is doing well with my 7 mile rides is this bike okay for commuting?

• I started to commute on an old MTB every work day mon-fri. I love it feels amazing. You always got to start somewhere and you can always improve your ride. Ihave upgraded to a entry level road bike now a Trek 1.1. Just make sure your are visible like lightes and maybe some reflective something e.g. ankle band, vest. Hope this helped a little bit.

posted about 2 years ago

• I'll second what Jason R. said -- "you've always got to start somewhere!"

As long as your Collegiate is comfortable and a good fit, there's no reason you can't use it as a commuter.

Lights front and rear will help dramatically with visibility. You don't have to buy the most expensive lights on the market to start. I have been running a basic Cateye blinky on the back of my various bikes for a while that does just fine (as long as it stays dry). My 'cross bike, meanwhile, has a little LED flashlight secured with a ton of velcro and a wrap-strap as a headlight!

How long will your commute be? Depending on the length of your ride, you may or may not want to ride in shorts or bike clothes and bring a change of clothes to work. I used to bring mine in on Monday and home on Friday. If you do ride in your work clothes, an ankle band (like Jason R. suggested) can pull double-duty as a reflective thingy and as a pants-protector (keeps your trouser leg out of your chain). If it's hot, dress accordingly and carry some water.