Forums/

Beginner Cycling

New to cycling...many questions

posted over 2 years ago | Report

I am just getting started into cycling...mostly mountain biking (a pretty old bike but it still works) but I'll hopefully start doing some triathlons. And since I know absolutely nothing about cycling I thought I'd pick some smart peoples brains. Just wondering what the rules of cycling are...do you ride on sidewalks on the road (which side) are hand signals even used anymore? Since I am a woman do I really need a woman specific bike or can I use a smaller men's bike? (I'm 5'3") Since I am a beginner do I actually need cycling shoes and clip in pedals? As you can tell I know very minimal. Any information you can tell me would be much appreciated. Also is there a pace that I should be able to do? Thank you!

15 posts

scroll to bottom
  • Welcome to cycling! I hope you have as much fun with it as I do.

-Since you're thinking about cycling for triathlon, I think you might consider connecting with the local tri club if you haven't already. They may have regular training rides that will help you get used to the local and universal norms for training by bike.

-Ride on the road. Preferably one with a generous shoulder or bike lane and not too much traffic

-Hand signals don't get much play where I live, other than the 'point where you're going' or universal mono-digit dissatisfaction indicator.

-You may be fine with a small 'mens' bike, but given your height, yoiu might try some WSD or compact frames. If you end up doing tris, clip on aero bars seem to be the norm, and for those you'll want a shorter top tube (WSD/Compact). Again, finding a good tri club will help you learn what other folks are using- and maybe hook you up with some good deals!