Answers/

Beginner Cycling

what is considered a good cycling speed?

asked over 4 years ago | Report

I am a runner. I know what a good pace in running is, for beginners to advanced/elite. I have no idea if how fast I am going on a bike even means something when it comes to triathlons or cycling races. I am just beginning to train for tri's, and since I am a horrible swimmer and can ride a bike, I thought I would focus more on the bike ride strength for now. Any advice??

10 answers

scroll to bottom
  • Are you looking for a speed for training or for racing?

As a beginner myself, I tend to average about 13-15 mph on flat roads. I'm not racing though, and I ride for my health at the moment, not training for anything in particular.

But as with all things, it's more about your effort than your speed. If your heart rate is racing at 13 mph, then back off and work up to a speed that works for your body. On the other hand, if you breeze though 15 mph without a spike in the HR, then by all means go faster! Good luck.

answered over 4 years ago |Report

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • Kv
    Kv Sendmail

Since your'e just starting it's a good time to break yourself of the mindset of average speed. It's especially tough for runners. However, in cycling, average speed is a very poor metric to measure performance by. There are many factors such as elevation, gradient, wind speed and direction which all play a role. I whole heartedly agree with the recommendation for effort rather than speed. 13 mph averaged over a mile on a 6% grade is a much greater effort than 19 mph averaged over three miles on a flat straightaway.

Since you're just starting, work on building an aerobic cycling base. Although your fitness from running will give you a head start, cycling is different enough that it will take some work. Keep riding and slowly incorporate interval training. Same basic principle as running - hard efforts followed by recovery.