Answers/

Beginner Cycling

User_avatar Deleted User

What kind of bike is this?

asked over 2 years ago | Report

I started riding a bike that has been sitting in my garage for 10 years and really enjoy it. I've also started reading all kinds of articles on cycling and realize how complicated it can really get. To be honest, I don't even know what kind of bike I have. I posted a pic of it in my profile. Is it a mountain bike? Hybrid? Comfort bike? It says "All Terrain" on it and has flat handle bars.

I'm riding mostly on flat paved trails. I'm assuming I'll eventually have to get a real road bike if I start getting really into it. But, is this good enough to start out or should I start looking for something else?

Thanks for your help!

6 answers

scroll to bottom
  • http://www.dailymile.com/people/5kfan/photos/475537

with the knobby wheels I'm going w/ mountain bike. if it fits you and wheels are round then I say ride it! adjust the saddle so when you are at the bottom of stroke you have a little bit of a bend in your knee. you might switch out the knobby tires for smooth ones it will be a little faster on the road that way. and get a good helmet to protect your noggin

good luck and have fun

answered over 2 years ago |Report

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • Jan
    Jan Sendmail

As usual, Joe H. gave great advice. With the thinner frame I'd guess it's a hybrid but it doesn't matter too much. I agree about considering smoother tires. It would probably be more enjoyable on the pavement.

Have fun with it!

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • It would probably be classified as a hybrid, with knobby tires.
    Mountain bikes usually have a suspension fork, or at least beefier forks.
    Comfort bikes have more rake and rise to the handle bars (I hate to say it but think Pee Wee Herman).

If you are enjoying riding it, who cares what it is called. Like the other posters have said, new road tires will make for a better ride.