Answers/

Beginner Cycling

First bike computer recommendations?

asked over 3 years ago | Report

I'm buying my first bike computer today. I'm just a beginner and don't really have a crazy amount of money to spend right now. Just looking to track basics - mileage, time, etc. Any suggestions?

13 answers

scroll to bottom
  • for $50-60 you can get alot. also they seel cheapo ones for like $20 that work fine aswell, they are just not as user friendly.

this is one of the ones i have
    http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/CP707A08-Planet+Bike+Protege+90+Computer.aspx

i really like the one i posted a link to, it has no buttons, everything you need is on display, and it has auto on/off. its pretty cheap too.

answered over 3 years ago |edited over 3 years ago |Report

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • Jim
    Jim Sendmail

You can get a good Cateye for under $50 (wired) that will give you what you need including cadence. Not heart rate though. I have used Cateye's for a couple of years now and really like them. If I had the finances I would probably get one of the Garmins that have gps routing

answered over 3 years ago |Report

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • i agree with what Jim said, i like Cateye aswell. the other computer i have is a Cateye with cadence, love that thing. and just remember most of the cheaper computers are wired, so you will have a wire running down your handlebars/forks. wireless computers are cool, but i wouldnt buy a cheap one.

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • The cat eye strada wireless is the best for the money. It cost around 50 bucks but well worth it you will use it for years. Save some money later and buy a good heart rate monitor

thumbs up
      thumbs down
  • If you have the budget, do try for one with cadence. Training based on cadence is great if your focus is fitness. Agree with the others Cateye is great. I have an Astrale 8, but don't think they make them anymore. Closest current comparison is probably the Strada Cadence: